Commercial macropods in Queensland

In Queensland the commercial harvesting of macropods is strictly regulated.

Macropod, which means big foot, are marsupials in the family Macropodidae.

Commercial harvesting of animals involves taking animals from the wild for a commercial purpose. Commercially harvested macropods are used to produce high quality leather, fur and meat products.

A detailed overview of the macropod harvesting industry in Queensland (PDF, 323KB) is available.

Queensland’s Macropod Management Program aims to ensure the conservation of the species and their habitat in a way that supports ecologically sustainable development.

This is done by monitoring the population, setting the harvest quotas and overall management of the harvest.

There are three species that can be commercially harvested in Queensland:

  • red kangaroo Macropus rufus
  • grey kangaroo Macropus giganteus
  • wallaroo Macropus robustus.

* (When we refer to macropods, we are referring to these three species).

These species are found in large numbers throughout Queensland and Australia and are not listed as threatened or endangered under state or federal laws.

Western grey kangaroos Macropus fuliginosus cannot be harvested in Queensland. However, this species can be mistaken for the eastern grey kangaroo, which can be harvested. Find out how to tell the difference between the eastern and western grey kangaroo.

Animal welfare

The National Code of Practice for the Humane Shooting of Kangaroos and Wallabies for Commercial Purposes explains how to humanely harvest macropods and minimise the potential for pain and suffering.

The code sets an achievable standard of humane conduct and is the minimum required of persons harvesting kangaroos and wallabies. Adherence to the code is a requirement under the Queensland Wildlife Trade Management Plan for Export—Commercially Harvested Macropods 2018–2022 (PDF, 1.87MB) and ensures humane take requirements are met under the Nature Conservation (Macropod) Conservation Plan 2017. All harvesters must complete an accreditation program to demonstrate their competency to meet the code.