Nature Conservation Animals and Plants Regulations

Updates to species lists

The list of protected animals that may be kept under each licence has been simplified. View the updated species list here (PDF, 387 KB ) .

Exempt species

Exempt species can be kept without a licence and are considered:

  1. easy to keep
  2. abundant in the market,  and
  3. do not pose a public safety or conservation risk in the event of an escape.

All invertebrates, except for those listed as protected scorpions (genus Urodacus) and tarantulas (family Theraphosidae), will remain exempt from requiring a licence.

The list of exempt bird species has been expanded from 22 to 68 species and only applies to the captive-bred industry. The exemption does not apply to the take, keep or use of the species in the wild, which will still require an authorisation.

Further information on licences and permits to take protected animals.

There are no exemptions for reptiles and amphibians, as detailed in the Decision Regulatory Impact Statement (PDF, 5.2 MB) .

Class 1 and 2 animals

Class 1 species are animals that are considered:

  1. easy to keep
  2. established in the captive-bred market
  3. not to pose a public safety risk in the event of an escape, and
  4. to have minimal impact to wild populations from illegal take activities.

Several species have been downgraded from the current ‘restricted’ category to Class 1, for example Aspidites ramsayi (woma) and Morelia viridis (green python).

All scorpions of the Urodacus genus and spiders of the family Theraphosidae (tarantulas) that are native to Australia will be regulated under the animal licensing framework as Class 1 animals. More information on these animals is available in the keeping protected scorpions and spiders fact sheet (PDF, 583 KB ) .

Class 2 species are animals that meet at least one of the following criteria:

  1. are not commonly kept and traded in Queensland
  2. require a specialised keeping environment
  3. pose a risk to public safety in the event of escape, or
  4. may be targeted by illegal take activities because of their attractiveness or rarity.

Prohibited animals

Animals not listed as exempt, Class 1 or Class 2 are by default prohibited from being kept and traded. Some animals are prohibited on transition, for example Varanus doreanus (blue-tailed monitor) and Tiliqua adelaidensis (pygmy blue-tongued skink). If you are currently authorised to keep an animal that becomes prohibited from 22 August 2020 you will be able to continue to keep under a specific permit arrangement.

The department will undertake periodic reviews of prohibited species to ensure the framework continues to align with keeping practices and conservation needs.

Dangerous snakes

Dangerous snakes can only be kept under a Specialised or Advanced licence. Limits on the number of dangerous snakes you can keep have changed and there will be a graduation in the type of dangerous snakes permitted. As your experience increases you can keep a larger variety of dangerous snakes. The dangerous snakes changes and categories can be viewed here.

In this guide:

  1. New animal licensing framework
  2. New animal licence options
  3. Updates to species lists
  4. New online reporting requirements
  5. Animal breeding restrictions
  6. Changes to taking native animals from the wild
  7. New approach for keeping dangerous snakes
  8. General animal authorisations for individuals, businesses and entities
  9. Common assessment method changes
  10. Changes to other animal licences and permits

Print entire guide