What is The Duke of Ed?

Group of young people smiling at the camera.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award (or ‘The Duke of Ed’) is an exciting international youth development program.

Anyone between the ages of 14 and 24 can take part and the best bit is you choose your own activities and set your own goals.

Why do The Duke of Ed?

You'll get recognition for doing many of the things you already do. You can also choose new activities that you’ve always wanted to do.

Why do The Duke of Ed? Find out more about what you'll get out of it.

What's involved?

The Duke of Ed has 3 Award levels and you can choose the level that's right for you: Bronze, Silver or Gold. Each level has different time commitments.

To finish the Bronze and Silver levels you have to complete 4 Award sections and 5 for the Gold level.

You design your own program around the things that interest you most.

The Award sections are:

  • Voluntary Service—get involved in your community and give service to others.
  • Skills—build your skills in something practical or creative, such as drawing, painting, fishing, or music.
  • Physical Recreation—take part in something active such as football, basketball, dancing, surfing or swimming.
  • Adventurous Journey—discover a sense of adventure and do something challenging with your friends.
  • Gold Residential Project—broaden your horizons and open your eyes to the world.

You'll have an Award Leader, instructors and assessors who can help you decide on activities for each Award section but remember, it's your choice.

More information

For detailed information about the Award:


Find out what it costs to apply to do The Duke of Ed in Queensland.

Related links