Australian Honours and Awards

The Australian Honours and Awards system recognises the outstanding service and contributions of Australians.

Recipients come from right across the country and from all walks of life. While some are well-known, the majority are unsung heroes.

Any Australian can nominate someone for an award. Nominations are assessed by the Honours and Awards Secretariat and considered by the Council of the Order of Australia before recommendations are made to the Governor-General.

The Australian Honours and Awards system includes:

The Order of Australia

The Order of Australia recognises Australians who have demonstrated outstanding service or exceptional achievement.

There are four levels of award. The Order of Australia also has a Military Division (awards in this division are recommended to the Governor-General by the Minister for Defence).

Anyone can nominate a member of the community for an award in The Order of Australia.

Australian Bravery Decorations

The Australian Bravery Decorations recognise acts of bravery where people selflessly put themselves in jeopardy to protect the lives or property of others.

There are four levels of bravery awards to recognise the actions of individuals, as well as an award (established in 1990) to recognise acts of bravery by a group of people involved in a single incident.

To nominate someone, complete the Australian Bravery Decorations Nomination Form.

Meritorious Service Awards

Meritorious Service Awards recognise outstanding and distinguished service by public servants, members of an Australian police force, fire, ambulance, corrections, intelligence or emergency service, or in support of outstanding work with an Australian Antarctic expedition.

The Governor-General makes these awards on the recommendation of the responsible Ministers.

Awards are announced twice a year on Australia Day and the long weekend in June.

Find out more in the Meritorious Service Awards Booklet.

Public Service Medal

The Public Service Medal (PSM) recognises public service employees, including those of the Australian Government and state, territory and local governments, who have given outstanding public service.

Committees meet twice a year to consider nominations for the Australia Day and June honours lists. Closing dates for nominations vary from state to state and should be checked with individual Committee Secretariats.

View the Public Service Medal Guidelines, Media Notes and nominate using the Queensland Public Service Medal Nomination Form today.

More information:

If you require further information to progress a Queensland nomination, please contact:

Honours and Awards
Events and Engagement
Department of the Premier and Cabinet

p. 07 3003 9200

State funerals

State funerals are arranged and funded by the Government to honour prominent people Queenslanders for their long and outstanding service to the State.

Traditionally, they were held to honour certain high-ranking public officials; however, it is possible to honour other prominent Queenslanders—this is the Premier’s decision.

The deceased person’s family or next-of-kin can accept the offer of a State funeral or decline and hold a private funeral instead.