Skip links and keyboard navigation

Australian of the Year Awards

The Australian of the Year Awards acknowledges the outstanding achievements of people who have made a significant contribution to their community, their state and our nation.

Queenslanders are encouraged to nominate now and recognise extraordinary individuals.

Nominations can be made across four categories:

  • Australian of the Year
  • Senior Australian of the Year
  • Young Australian of the Year
  • Local Hero.

To submit a nomination, visit the Australian of the Year Awards website or phone 1300 655 193.

Nominations close Monday 3 August 2015.

Queensland recipients from each award category will represent the state as finalists in the National Australian of the Year Awards, to be held on the eve of Australia Day in Canberra.

To learn more

The Australian of the Year Awards is a program of the National Australia Day Council. Visit the Australian of the Year website to learn more about the awards and previous nationwide finalists.

Like our Facebook page to show your support and receive Australia Day and Australian of the Year Awards updates.

Contact details

Previous winners

View previous Queensland Australian of the Year winners:

  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • Subscribe to the A state of celebration eNewsletter for monthly updates about awards and events.

    Last updated
    4 June, 2015

    Page feedback

    1. To continue to improve your experience we need your feedback.

      Tell us what you think about this page by completing the questions below and giving us your own words in the 'Your comments' section.

    2. Read the statements below and select a button that indicates what you think or feel:
      Question 1 2 3 4 5
      Was it clear
      Was it easy
      Did you find it helpful
      I am satisfied
    3. Contact (optional)