Alcohol restrictions in Queensland communities

There are alcohol restrictions in 19 communities across Queensland (see list below). These restrictions ban or limit the amount and type of alcohol you can take into a community. In some communities, alcohol is completely banned.


A restricted area is where alcohol restrictions apply. This includes the entire area controlled by the local shire council, unless an area is specifically included or excluded.

Homes are included in restricted areas. Beaches, wharves and riverbeds can also be included in the restricted area.

It depends on the community (see list below). The maximum amount of alcohol a person can carry within the restricted area is known as an alcohol 'carriage limit'. In some communities no alcohol is allowed (an alcohol carriage limit of zero).

Alcohol carriage limits apply to:

  • individuals, and
  • maximum amounts that can be transported in a vehicle, boat or aircraft (no matter how many passengers there are).

Alcohol restrictions in Queensland communities

In this guide:

  1. Aurukun
  2. Cherbourg
  3. Doomadgee
  4. Hope Vale
  5. Kowanyama
  6. Lockhart River
  7. Mapoon
  8. Mornington Island
  9. Napranum
  10. Northern Peninsula Area
  11. Palm Island
  12. Pormpuraaw
  13. Woorabinda
  14. Wujal Wujal
  15. Yarrabah

Print entire guide