Levy zone map

The levy zone includes 39 out of 77 local government areas in Queensland, which covers around 90% of Queensland’s population and is where the majority of waste is generated and disposed.

The exclusion of some local government areas recognises the different circumstances faced by remote and less populated communities in Queensland, and removes the costs of administering, remitting and reporting against the levy in these regional areas.

Measures are in place to ensure that these areas outside the levy zone do not become ‘dumping grounds’ in efforts to avoid paying the levy.

Type in an address, location name or postcode to find out if your local government area is in the levy zone (green) or non-levy zone (grey).