Skip links and keyboard navigation

Queensland Social Cohesion Implementation Committee

In June 2016, the Queensland Government established the Queensland Social Cohesion Implementation Committee as a step towards enhancing social cohesion in our communities.

The Committee has developed an action plan, with priorities and related strategies that:

  • promote the benefits of diversity in Queensland
  • strengthen community cohesion and resilience
  • reduce marginalisation
  • address anti-social behaviour and behaviour that may lead to violence or physical harm to others.

Read Cohesive communities: an action plan for Queensland 2016–18 (PDF, 272KB).

The Committee reports to the Queensland Security Cabinet Committee through the Premier and Minister for the Arts and the Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs.

Read the Committee's Terms of Reference (PDF, 139KB).

Committee membership

At September 2017, the membership of the Committee comprises:

  • Mr Scott Stewart MP (Chair)
  • Professor Lesley Chenoweth AO (Deputy Chair)
  • Mrs Josephine Aufai
  • Mrs Mary Bartlett-Johnston
  • Associate Professor Adrian Cherney
  • Mr Petero Civoniceva
  • Ms Venessa Curnow
  • Ms Gail Ker OAM
  • Mr Fahim Khondaker
  • Miss Prudence Melom

A number of government department representatives attend Committee meetings as observers.

We are Queensland small grants program 2017–18

The We Are Queensland small grants program supports Queenslanders to be more involved in their communities. The successful grants program projects are being rolled out across the state and are assisting Queensland-based not-for-profit organisations, community groups and local councils to deliver community-led initiatives to build a stronger sense of community and to enhance the sense of belonging for all Queenslanders.

Grants of up to $20,000 were awarded to 70 projects to create opportunities for families, community groups, and individuals to feel included and connected within the broader community. The program was delivered under the Cohesive Communities Action Plan 2016–18, with an aim to promote a society where everyone is respected and welcome to make a positive and valued contribution to the community.

For out more on the successful projects and to find out what is happening near you, visit the We Are Queensland website..

Last updated
16 February, 2018
  1. Is your feedback about:
  2. (If you chose ‘website’ above)

    Page feedback

    1. How satisfied are you with your experience today? *
  3. (If you chose ‘service’ above)

    Feedback on government services, departments and staff

    Please use our complaints and compliments form.