Print

School holidays

Holidays and term dates for Queensland state schools are listed below.

Independent schools and Catholic schools base their holidays on the state school dates but these can vary from school to school—check with your school for details.

Some schools in Far North Queensland and Western Queensland start the summer holiday 1 week before other state schools.

Schools that have early summer holidays.

Term dates for 2019

Term

Dates

Length

Term 1

Tuesday 29  January – Friday 5 April

10 weeks

Term 2

Tuesday 23 April – Friday 28 June

10 weeks

Term 3

Monday 15 July – Friday 20 September

10 weeks

Term 4

Tuesday 8 October – Friday 13 December

10 weeks

Staff professional development days for 2019

  • Thursday 24 and Friday 25 January
  • Monday 8, Tuesday 9 and Wednesday 10 April
  • Monday 21 October

Year 10 and 12 finishing dates for 2019

  • Year 12—Friday 15 November
  • Year 10 and 11—Friday 29 November

View the school term and holiday dates for 2019 and the 2020 future dates for Queensland.

Public holidays

Find information on public holidays, show holidays and special holidays in Queensland.

Other Australian states and territories

Check the Australian Government's school term dates.