Print

Engaging a contaminated land auditor

Auditors for contaminated land independently evaluate the contaminated land investigation document prepared by suitably qualified persons and certify the document when it meets the regulatory requirements.

When is an auditor required?

All contaminated land investigation documents submitted to us on or after 30 September 2015 must be certified by an approved auditor. Contaminated land investigation documents include:

  • site investigation report
  • validation report
  • draft site management plan or draft amended site management plan.

The auditor's certification must verify that the contaminated land investigation document has met the regulatory content requirements which include a statement of uses or activities for which the site is suitable.

Auditors are experts who can provide advice during a project about the environmental standards which must be met when dealing with contamination.

When should I engage an auditor?

Auditors should be engaged at the beginning of the project to clarify the requirements. Early communication between you, the suitably qualified person and the auditor will promote better outcomes and help avoid the potentially costly situation where works completed by a suitably qualified person are subsequently found by the auditor to be insufficient or inappropriate.

Where do I find an approved auditor?

Approved auditors for contaminated land are:

Andrew Nunn
JBS&G
Level 3, 32 Turbot Street,
Brisbane, Qld 4000
(07) 3211 5350
anunn@jbsg.com.au

Benjamin Wackett
Cavvanba Consulting Pty Ltd
1/66 Centennial Circuit
Byron Bay NSW 2481
0488 225 692
ben@cavvanba.com

Brad May
Epic Environmental Pty Ltd
193 North Quay
Brisbane QLD 4000
0400 497 512
bmay@epicenvironmental.com.au

Bryden Tiddy
Coffey Services Australia Pty Ltd
Level 1, 436 Johnson Street
Abbotsford VIC 3067
03 9290 7139
0409 400 219
bryden.tiddy@coffey.com

Christian Atkinson
Grounded Environmental
3/33 Edward Street
Alexandra Headland QLD 4572
0403 363 011
Christian@GroundedE.com.au

Craig Barker
Ground Consulting Pty Ltd
Unit 2 – Oasis Apartments
2 Flametree Grove
Hamilton Island QLD 4803
0402 779 004
craig@groundconsulting.com.au

David Gregory
Geo-Logix Pty Ltd
0401 307 890
dgregory@geo-logix.com.au

Damien Morris
GHD Pty Ltd
145 Ann St
Brisbane QLD 4000
0418 882 906
Damien.Morris@ghd.com

Geoffrey Byrne
Niboi Consulting Pty Ltd
245 Robert Road, Bentley Park
Cairns QLD 4869
0432 751 104
geoff.byrne@niboi.com.au

Ian Gregson
GHD Pty Ltd
Level 3 GHD Tower
24 Honeysuckle Drive
Newcastle NSW 2300
02 4979 9904
ian.gregson@ghd.com

Jean Paul Pearce
Australian Environmental Auditors Pty Ltd
2/181 Halifax St
Adelaide SA 5000
08 8223 3488
jppearce@envaud.com.au

Jim Soltau
Jim Soltau & Associates
2846 Moggill Road
Pinjarra Hills QLD 4069
07 3202 6229
0418 880 293
jim@jimsoltau.com

Jonathan Thom
Cardno Victoria Pty Ltd
Level 4, 501 Swanston Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
03 9831 6134
0448 977 540
jonathan.thom@cardno.com.au

Jonathan Ho
AECOM Australia Pty Ltd
Level 21, 420 George Street
Sydney NSW 2000
02 8934 1129
0422 475 897
jonathan.ho@aecom.com

Kevin Masterton
Australian Environmental Auditors Pty Ltd
Suite 21, The Central, 1 Ricketts Road
Mt Waverley VIC 3149
03 8542 7500
0458 388 987
kmasterton@envaud.com.au

Louise Cartwright
Epic Environmental Pty Ltd
L6, 193 North Quay
Brisbane QLD 4000
1800 779 363
0477 074 334
lcartwright@epicenvironmental.com.au

Marc Salmon
Easterly Point Environmental Pty Ltd
Unit 1, 64 Kingsley Street
Byron Bay NSW 2481
02 6685 6681
marc@easterlypoint.com

Mark Stuckey
Environmental Earth Sciences Pty Ltd
PO Box 3207
Newstead QLD 4006
07 3852 6666
mstuckey@environmentalearthsciences.com

Michael Seignior
BlueSphere Environmental Pty Ltd
Suite 6, Level 1, 29 McDougall Street
Milton QLD 4064
07 3367 5300
0417 289 589
mseignior@bluesphere-enviro.com.au

Philip Sinclair
Coffey Services Australia Pty Ltd
Level 1, 436 Johnston Street
Abbotsford VIC 3067
03 9290 7000 (reception)
03 9290 7105 (direct)
0403 242 475
phil.sinclair@coffey.com

Phillip Hitchcock
Australian Environmental Auditors Pty Ltd
2/181 Halifax Street
Adelaide SA 5000
08 8223 3488
0418 761 814
phitchcock@envaud.com.au

Robin Wagland
MACH1 Environmental Pty Ltd
PO Box 3028
Ashgrove QLD 4060
07 3366 7702
0420 931 207
robin@mach1environmental.com.au

Ron D’Ercole
JBS&G Australia Pty Ltd
Level 3, 32 Turbot Street
Brisbane QLD 4000
07 3211 5350
0475 750 010
rdercole@jbsg.com.au

Shandel Coleman
Australian Environmental Auditors Pty Ltd
Unit 7, 80 Colin Street
West Perth, WA, 6005
08 6268 0181
0412 230 147
scoleman@envaud.com.au

Sophie Wood
Environmental Resources Management Australia Pty Ltd
Level 15, 309 Kent Street
Sydney NSW 2000
02 8586 8700
0423 294 800
Sophie.wood@erm.com

Trevor Lloyd
Lloyd Consulting Environmental Services Pty Ltd
30 Heather Street
Wilston QLD 4051
07 3352 7300
trevor@lloydconsulting.com.au

Vanessa Bryant
Senversa Pty Ltd
Level 17, 140 St Georges Tce
Perth WA 6000
0419 951 532
vanessa.bryant@senversa.com.au

Warren Pump
Salient GeoEnvironmental Consulting Pty Ltd
58 Canterbury Road
Camberwell VIC 3124
0419 209 690
warren@salientplus.com

Auditor qualifications and oversight

Auditors must conduct audits in a manner which is independent and protects human health and the environment. They must comply with the conditions of their approval and renew their approval at the end of the approval term.

We are committed to ensuring auditors carry out their role appropriately and environmental standards are upheld.

For further details about the principles and standards of conduct that auditors must adhere to refer to the Queensland Auditor Handbook for Contaminated Land Module 4: Code of professional conduct ( (PDF, 79 KB ) ) or find out how to make a complaint about an auditor.