Skip links and keyboard navigation

Queensland Premiers

The current Premier of Queensland is Annastacia Palaszczuk MP.

Find out more about the current Premier of Queensland.

The Premiers of Queensland are listed below in chronological order including time served.

Period served Premier
14/02/2015–present Annastacia Palaszczuk
26/03/2012–14/02/2015 Campbell Newman
13/09/2007–26/03/2012 Anna Maria Bligh
26/06/1998–13/09/2007 Peter Beattie
20/02/1996–26/06/1998 Robert Borbidge
02/12/1989–20/02/1996 Wayne Goss
22/09/1989–02/12/1989 Russell Cooper
01/12/1987–22/09/1989 Michael Ahern
08/08/1968–01/12/1987 Sir Johannes Bjelke-Petersen
01/08/1968–08/08/1968 Gordon William Wesley Chalk
17/01/1968–01/08/1968 Jack Charles Allen Pizzey
12/08/1957–17/01/1968 George Francis Reuben Nicklin
17/01/1952–12/08/1957 Vincent Clair Gair
07/03/1946–17/01/1952 Edward Michael Hanlon
16/09/1942–07/03/1946 Frank Arthur Cooper
17/06/1932–16/09/1942 William Forgan Smith
21/05/1929–17/06/1932 Arthur Edward Moore
22/10/1925–21/05/1929 William McCormack
26/02/1925–22/10/1925 William Neal Gillies
22/10/1919–26/02/1925 Edward Granville Theodore
01/06/1915–22/10/1919 Thomas Joseph Ryan
07/02/1911–01/06/1915 Digby Frank Denham
18/02/1908–07/02/1911 William Kidston
19/11/1907–18/02/1908 Robert Philp
19/01/1906–19/11/1907 William Kidston
17/09/1903–19/01/1906 Arthur Morgan
07/12/1899–17/09/1903 Robert Philp
01/12/1899–07/12/1899 Anderson Dawson
01/10/1898–01/12/1899 James Robert Dickson
13/04/1898–01/10/1898 Thomas Joseph Byrnes
27/10/1893–13/04/1898 Hugh Muir Nelson
27/03/1893–27/10/1893 Thomas McIlwraith
12/08/1890–27/03/1893 Samuel Walker Griffith
30/11/1888–12/08/1890 Boyd Dunlop Morehead
13/06/1888–30/11/1888 Thomas McIlwraith
13/11/1883–13/06/1888 Samuel Walker Griffith
21/01/1879–13/11/1883 Thomas McIlwraith
08/03/1877–21/01/1879 John Douglas
05/06/1876–08/03/1877 George Thorn
08/01/1874–05/06/1876 Arthur Macalister
03/05/1870–08/01/1874 Arthur Hunter Palmer
25/11/1868–03/05/1870 Charles Lilley
15/08/1867–25/11/1868 Robert Ramsey Mackenzie
07/08/1866–15/08/1867 Arthur Macalister
20/07/1866–07/08/1866 Robert George Wyndham Herbert
01/02/1866–20/07/1866 Arthur Macalister
10/12/1859–01/02/1866 Robert George Wyndham Herbert

Find out more about former premiers and members of parliament.

Last updated
3 August, 2017
  1. Is your feedback about:
  2. (If you chose ‘website’ above)

    Page feedback

    1. How satisfied are you with your experience today? *
  3. (If you chose ‘service’ above)

    Feedback on government services, departments and staff

    Please use our complaints and compliments form.