Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence

2019 Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence winner, Ariarne Titmus.

The annual Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence is presented by the Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) to an athlete who has achieved great success on the international stage while serving as an exceptional ambassador for sport.

The accolade was named in honour of the late surf lifesaving legend and QAS founding father, Peter Lacey.

About the award

Peter Lacey was a surf lifesaving legend, business leader and founding father of the QAS. His strength, resilience and determination to succeed was evident not only in competition where he amassed 14 World Championship titles, but also his business endeavours and family/personal life.

His integrity and true sportsmanship qualities impelled the organisation to grant him the recognition he deserves by establishing an award in his name.

With this, the QAS and its athletes strive to uphold Peter Lacey’s lasting legacy of excellence.

2019 winner

Ariarne Titmus was named the 2019 Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence winner at the 25th Annual Queensland Sport Awards ceremony on Saturday 30 November 2019.

Following her sensational year in the pool and ongoing contribution to her sport and the community, Ariarne was deemed a very worthy and deserving recipient of the Academy’s most prestigious award.

This year’s FINA World Championships in Gwangju proved to be a highlight for Ariarne as she was crowned the new champion of the women’s 400m Freestyle, was part of the women’s 4x200m Freestyle relay team who won gold and set a new WR, and claimed a silver and bronze medal respectively in the women’s 200m and 800m Freestyle events.

In concurrence with her busy training and competition schedule, Ariarne also managed to find time to continue her ambassador role with the Eloise Gannon Foundation and give back to the swimming community by hosting a number of clinics for younger swimmers.

In light of her achievements and like all previous Peter Lacey Award winners, Ariarne epitomises sporting excellence and embodies the spirit, sportsmanship and determination of Peter Lacey.

Congratulations, Ariarne!

Previous award winners

  • Inaugural winner 1998 – Susie O’Neill
  • 1998 – Grant Hackett
  • 1999 – Vicki Wilson
  • 2000 – Kieren Perkins
  • 2001 – Geoff Huegill
  • 2002 – Kerrie Meares
  • 2003 – Geoff Trappett
  • 2004 – Jodie Henry
  • 2005 – Leisel Jones
  • 2006 – Emma Snowsill
  • 2007 – Lisbeth Lenton
  • 2008 – Stephanie Rice
  • 2009 – Emma Moffatt
  • 2010 – Jamie Dwyer
  • 2011 – Sally Pearson
  • 2012 –Sally Pearson
  • 2013 – Mathew Belcher
  • 2014 – Cate Campbell
  • 2015 – Mark Knowles
  • 2016 – Curtis McGrath
  • 2017 – Alyce Burnett
  • 2018 – Simon Patmore