COVID-19 hotspots

Question Id

Question Test




Queensland entry and testing requirements checker

Complete the following self-check for advice about what to do if you are travelling to Queensland or if you are already in Queensland.

Begin here

Have you been in a declared hotspot in the last 14 days?

Yes OutcomeHotspot
   No Q2

Your current location

Where are you now?

NSW OutcomeNSWAdvice
   Victoria Q7
   Queensland Q4
   Other state or territory Q7
   Overseas OutcomeOverseas

Your previous location

Have you been in any of these in the last 14 days?
NSW OutcomeNSWAdvice
   Victoria OutcomeinQLD
   Queensland OutcomeinQLD
   Other state or territory OutcomeinQLD
Q6 Are you in Greater Brisbane?
Greater Brisbane includes the local government areas of Brisbane, Moreton Bay, Ipswich, Redlands and Logan. 
Yes OutcomeLockdown
   No, but I have been there at some point on or after 2 January OutcomeLockdown
   No Q4
Q7Have you been in NSW since 11 December 2020YesOutcome1NSW

Please note the information contained in this self-assessment is general in nature and should be interpreted alongside the latest Public Health Directions and quarantine advice.

Hotspots are places in Australia or safe travel zone countries where health officials have found a lot of people with COVID-19, or places that are at risk of a lot of COVID-19 infections. Hotspots are legally listed so that people travelling from those high-risk areas into Queensland can be identified.

  Map of COVID-19 hotspots

Entering Queensland from a COVID-19 hotspot

People who have been in a hotspot in the last 14 days or since the hotspot was declared (whichever is shorter), will only be able to enter Queensland if they are a returning Queensland resident or required to enter for a limited range of essential reasons. Queensland residents returning to Queensland from a hotspot must quarantine for 14 days on entering Queensland in government arranged accommodation at their own expense. This will help reduce the chance that they might infect other people.

Details of who is exempt from mandatory quarantine, even if they have been to a hotspot, can be found on the Border Restrictions page.

Declaration of COVID-19 hotspots

Hotspots are legally listed so that people travelling from those high-risk areas into Queensland can be identified.

See the Chief Health Officer's Declaration of COVID-19 hotspots.

LGAs declared hotspots in New South Wales

  • Bayside
  • Blacktown
  • Blue Mountains
  • Burwood
  • Camden
  • Campbelltown
  • Canada Bay
  • Canterbury-Bankstown
  • Central Coast
  • City of Sydney
  • Cumberland
  • Fairfield
  • Georges River
  • Hawkesbury
  • Hornsby
  • Hunter’s Hill
  • Inner West
  • Ku-ring-gai
  • Lane Cove
  • Liverpool
  • Mosman
  • North Sydney
  • Northern Beaches
  • Parramatta
  • Penrith
  • Randwick
  • Ryde
  • Strathfield
  • Sutherland
  • The Hills
  • Waverley
  • Willoughby
  • Wollondilly
  • Wollongong
  • Woollahra
  • Sydney Harbour (unincorporated)