Local Government Areas applied to Aged Care Direction (No. 8)

The Local Government Areas (LGAs) listed below apply to the Aged Care Direction (No. 8)

From 30 July 2020 increased restrictions have been put in place for residential aged care facilities located in the LGAs listed below. You can read more about the restrictions on these facilities.

Find out where Local Government Areas are.

These areas are places in Queensland which are potentially at higher risk of COVID-19 transmission. These LGAs are legally listed so that people can be aware if their residence, activities or work are captured by restrictions on visiting aged care facilities.

Declaring areas where restrictions to visiting aged care facilities apply ensures we are doing everything we can to stop the spread of COVID-19 in Queensland.

List of Local Government Areas applied to the Aged Care Direction (No.8)

l, Dr Jeannette Young, Chief Health Officer, reasonably believe it is necessary to publish the following list of Queensland COVID-19 restricted areas pursuant to the powers under s362B of the Public Health Act 2005 to assist in containing, or to respond to, the spread of COVID-19 within the community.

The direction applies from 12.01pm on 2 August 2020 until the end of the declared public health emergency, unless it is revoked or replaced. The purpose of this direction is to identify Queensland COVID-19 restricted areas for:

From 12.01pm on 2 August 2020 the following Local Government Areas are Queensland COVID-19 restricted areas for visiting aged care facilities:

Subscribe to Public Health Direction updates

Stay informed about the latest public health directions regarding coronavirus (COVID-19). Sign up to the Queensland Health newsletter.

Subscribe now

Questions and Requests for exemptions

If you are seeking clarification on a Direction or have any questions, please call 134 COVID (13 42 68).

To apply for an exemption to a Direction please complete the online form.

Submit your request online