Exemptions for disaster waste

The Department of Environment and Science may identify disaster waste as a levy exempt waste when it is notified by a local council of a serious local event or a disaster is declared under the Disaster Management Act 2003.

Exempt waste declarations currently in effect:

Local government area

Waste disposal sites

Exempt Waste

Exempt Period

State of Queensland1
  • Not applicable
  • No waste is disaster management waste
  • 22 March - ongoing
Livingstone Shire Council2

Livingstone Shire Council

  • Yeppoon Landfill (C108892)

Isaac Regional Council

  • Clermont Resource Recovery Centre (C113557)
  • Dysart Resource Recovery Centre (C113939)
  • Glenden Resource Recovery Centre (C113670)
  • Moranbah Resource Recovery Centre (C113434)

Rockhampton Regional Council

  • Lakes Creek Road Landfill (C109085)
  • Disaster management waste
  • 22 June 2020 up to and including 8 September 2020
All local government areas in New South Wales (NSW), but limited to waste generated by the NSW bushfires and transported by contractors and/or transporters authorised by the NSW Environmental Protection Agency3
  • Veolia Environmental Services (Australia) Pty Ltd and JJ Richards Ti Tree Pty Ltd Champions Way, WILLOWBANK QLD 4306 (C114122)
  • Stapylton Green Energy (BMI), 215 Burnside Road, STAPYLTON QLD 4207 (C162683)
  • Declared exempt waste in exceptional circumstances – disaster management waste
  • 22 July 2020 up to and including 30 September 2020

1 State-declared disaster on 22 March 2020. Exemption made by the Department of Environment and Science (PDF, 125 KB) .

2 State declared disaster on 9 November 2019. Exemption made by the Department of Environment and Science (PDF, 544 KB) .

3 Declared disaster waste on 22 January 2020 in relation to bushfires on 2 January 2020 pursuant to section 33 of the State Emergency and Rescue Management Act 1989 (the NSW Act). Exemption made by the Department of Environment and Science (PDF, 560 KB)