Skip links and keyboard navigation

Community histories E-I

  • Erub (Darnley Island)

    Erub, also known as Darnley Island, is in the eastern group of Torres Strait Islands, and is 60km south of Papua New Guinea.

  • Hammond

    Hammond Island is located in the southern, or Prince of Wales, group of Torres Strait Islands.

  • Hinchinbrook region

    The Hinchinbrook region includes Innisfail, Tully, Cardwell, Mission Beach, Hinchinbrook Island and Ingham.

  • Hope Vale

    Hope Vale is located in Cape York, far-north Queensland, and is about an hour's drive north of Cooktown.

  • Horn Island (Nguruapai)

    Horn Island, or Ngarupai, is located in the southern Prince of Wales group of Torres Strait Islands.

  • Iama (Yam Island)

    Iama, also known as Yam Island, is one of the central group of Torres Strait Islands.

  • Injinoo

    Injinoo, also known as Cowal Creek, is 1 of the 5 Northern Peninsula Area (NPA) communities.

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0)
Last updated:
12 March 2015
  1. Is your feedback about:
  2. (If you chose ‘website’ above)

    Page feedback

    1. How satisfied are you with your experience today? *
  3. (If you chose ‘service’ above)

    Feedback on government services, departments and staff

    Please use our complaints and compliments form.