Australian of the Year Awards

The Australian of the Year Awards recognises inspiring individuals who lead as role models for their communities, their state, and the nation.  In 2020, these Awards celebrate their 60th anniversary.

Nominations are now closed for the 2020 awards. Visit the Australian of the Year Awards website to learn more.

Awards are presented in four categories:

  • Australian of the Year
  • Senior Australian of the Year (those aged 65 years and over)
  • Young Australian of the Year (ages 16 to 30)
  • Australia’s Local Hero.

Queensland recipients from each award category will be announced in November and represent Queensland in the national awards in Canberra on the eve of Australia Day.

The Australian of the Year Awards is a program of the National Australia Day Council, managed in Queensland by the Queensland Government.

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram to receive Australia Day and Australian of the Year Awards updates.

For more information contact Events and Engagement, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, by email or phone 07 3003 9200.